Students in grades 3-5 submitted prose and poetry to the Young Southern Student Writers contest, and the judges awarded 22 pieces from The Bright School.

According to rules from the contest, “Students from any school (K-12) in the greater Chattanooga area, as well as home school students, are eligible to enter the YSSW contest.  Each entry must be the original work of the student, and it must not have been previously submitted to another contest or competition.”

The contest is held annually and sponsored by the Southern Lit Alliance and the Department of English at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. English faculty and graduate students read each entry and evaluate them based on creativity, content and style. Winners will be honored at a ceremony on April 9 at the Tivoli Theater.

The Bright School winners are:

Third grade, prose: Greta Olson, Liliana Coleman, Vishnu Vardhana, Christopher Kim and Miriam Fazio-Vives

Third grade, poetry: Sydney Lawson, George Simpson, Chloe Sawrie, Lucinda Ranalli and Caleb Hitchcock

Fourth grade, prose: Payton Anderson and Kaben Plumlee

Fourth grade, poetry: Payton Anderson, Andrew Kreek and Petra Lund

Fifth grade, prose: Khadeeja Agha, Max Hickman, Kai Olson and Evan Yim

Fifth grade, poetry: Lillis Allison, Ebun Akinlaga, Luciana Hemphill and Nehemiah Coleman